Shows From My Childhood – HR Pufnstuf


The other night I my wife and I were talking about kids TV Programs and how the creators of these shows must have done a lot of drugs. That’s when I asked her whether she had seen HR Pufnstuf growing up, in which she hadn’t. Because it’s widely believed that this show could only be created if you were completely wrecked on all types of drugs. However, one of the creators has came out with this quote

We’ve heard that for 35 years. We did not intentionally do anything related to drugs in the story. People thought we were on drugs. You can’t do good television while on drugs. People never believe you when you say that, but you can’t. The shows were very bright and spacey looking. They may have lent themselves to that culture at the time, but we didn’t ascribe that meaning to them, and I can’t speak to what adults were doing when they were watching the shows. We just set out to make a quality children’s program.
—Marty Krofft

Whether you believe it on not is up to you. But just watch the few videos below. It’s enjoyable and surprisingly easy to sing along with. And keep in mind, this was made for kids to watch back in the 70’s and 80’s! This is a show that I would watch all the time and even get out on VHS if my parents took me to the video store! It’s a little messed up, but when you’re a kid, all you see is bright colours and people in costumes. It’s entertaining.

I now have the theme song stuck in my head.

Leave a Reply

